Beam Global Brands Win Awards at First International SIP Awards

Deerfield, Ill. – January 25, 2010 – Beam Global Spirits & Wine, Inc. [Fortune Brands, Inc. (NYSE:FO)], the leading American spirits company, is pleased to announce its stellar wins at the 2009 SIP Awards. (rī)1 Whiskey, Hornitos Reposado Tequila and Tres Generaciones Añejo Tequila each received a platinum medal, the highest honor awarded in each spirit category. Platinum medals are given to spirit brands that demonstrate the highest grade of aroma, taste and finish quality. Additionally, Hornitos Añejo Tequila and Tres Generaciones Plata Tequila received gold medals.

“We are honored our brands earned both platinum and gold medals in the SIP Awards’ inaugural year,” said Kevin George, global chief marketing officer, Beam Global Spirits & Wine, Inc. “Because the competition judging panels consists of consumers from all over the world, the judging is completely unbiased and impartial, allowing for the liquid in the bottle to truly shine. These awards are a testament to the quality of craftsmanship that goes into each of our great-tasting products.”

The triple-distilled, super-premium Tres Generaciones family has a light finish and clean floral that rivals any super-premium tequilas on the market. Hornitos Tequila is a premium tequila made from 100 percent agave that consists of three variants. The Reposado variant leaves a complex and perfectly balanced, warm, mellow finish. (rī)1™, the first ultra-premium rye whiskey in the Beam Global portfolio, launched in 2008 and continues to be a legal purchase age consumer favorite with its light, slightly spicy flavor and scents of dried fruit and cinnamon.

The inaugural competition for the SIP Awards was held in Los Angeles, Calif., in November 2009. Winning spirits received platinum, gold, silver or bronze medals.  It is one of the few international sprits competitions where the judging panel is solely made up of consumers through blind taste tests. A portion of all submission proceeds were donated to the American Red Cross.